Tradd Moore

Image 

-[Piece done as a cover for the ongoing series ‘Morning Glories’] 

I really enjoy Tradd Moore’s style of work and the way he composes expression and feelings of his characters through exaggerated expressions. I myself find making pleasing and genuine expression difficult- and something I need to improve on, however, I found myself fascinated with how Tradd Moore does this whilst still retaining his own sense of style. 

“Not all comic book artists can claim to produce pencil work that is as interesting to pick apart (or more so) as their finished, colored pieces. Tradd Moore falls into that category, though. That’s no knock against the colored art in The Strange Talent of Luther Strode at Image Comics, but if you’ve seen the Fin Fang Foom he drew recently, you know his penciled images are equally glorious to gush over.”

-http://comicsalliance.com/tradd-moore-art/

I like how intricate and interesting his ink work is, I want to try spark the same kind of intrest in my own work as Tradd Moore does in his. 

JM: Who, in your opinion, are the pioneers of sequential art?
TM: Well, these guys aren’t the pioneers of sequential art, but I’ll tell you about some guys who pioneered my personal journey into comics. Artistically, the first creators in comics who I ever knew by name and would seek out comics based solely on their involvement were Jim LeeAdam and Andy KubertJoe Madureira, and John Romita Jr. I was obsessed with X-Men as a kid and these guys were my absolute artistic heroes due to their work on various X-Men titles. They laid the groundwork for what I viewed as comic art and essentially defined my early perceptions of the field. While my tastes have expanded all over the place over the years, their work will always hold a special place for me. 

-http://sequentialhighway.com/tradd-moore-answers-15-questions-with-julinda-morrow/

 

It’s easy to see how Tradd Moore’s style developed from his love of comics as a child, often redrawing panels he saw, many of his influences are very much archetype superhero genre comic book artists and illustrators. 

Image

 

-I also really liked these headsets he did of the comics characters, very nice to see how he translated the characters into his won style.

JM: How do you define sequential art?
TM: Telling a story through pictures. The amalgamation of literature and visual art. Or—regarding my body of work—consecutive images of men being punched.

-http://sequentialhighway.com/tradd-moore-answers-15-questions-with-julinda-morrow/

I liked his definition of sequential art, it’s very similar to my own view, that it blends the two practices of literature and visual art to create a visual story telling experience. 

JM: How do you approach your work process?
TM: My work process is about as simple and straightforward as they come. When producing pages, I go from little 2×3 pencilled thumbnails, to loosely pencilled 11×17 roughs, then into inks. Regarding inks, I do virtually everything with a brush. Here’s the one I use, if anyone out there is interested: Winsor and Newton Series 7 Size 2.

http://sequentialhighway.com/tradd-moore-answers-15-questions-with-julinda-morrow/

I was very surprised to learn he works in brush an dink, his lines are so clean and crisp and controlled, I would have thought they were done digitally, but of course it seems I was wrong! I will have to bear in mind about trying out more brush and ink work.  

Leave a Reply

